Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Historical China

Posted by rhondascooking on November 7, 2007

Because I was so excited to test out Skype, I woke up early this morning to call momma and my brother.  Skype is the bomb, the call was crystal clear! 

Instead of taking a chance on breakfast, I stayed in this morning at ate my brown rice cakes and hazelnut butter.  Because of my food allergies/intolerances, as well as challenges with arthiritis and hypothyroidism, I really have to be mindful of what I eat because eating the wrong foods causes me to have inflammation.  This makes my travel very complicated especially, international.  Because I have special dietary needs, I brought a suitcase full of food–trailmix, rice cakes, protein powder and Vitamin Water!  Yes, that’s right, I brought 4 bottles of Vitamin Water all the way to China!  I wanted to bring more, but I didn’t want the suitcase to be too heavy. 

Today we headed to Tian An Men Square and theForbidden City’s Imperial Palace, where the Xiang and Ming Dynasty lived.  When we arrived at the Forbidden City, I was in awe.  Renee, our tour guide indicated that there are 9,999 rooms in the Imperial Palace.  In this palace, the emporer lived there along with his wives, children, concubines, and other elected officials/security.    As I walked through the area, it reminded me of all of the Kung Fu movies that I used to watch with my mom and dad.  I could just visualize seeing the ninjas fly from one end of the roof to the other.  Renee also indicated that the movie, “The Last Emporer”, was filmed there and that it is considered as the best reflection of China’s emporers. 

Before heading back to the hotel, we toured Beijing’s ancient narrow streets known as Hutongs, via the old-fashioned pedicab.  These are basically carts attached to bicycles that held 2 people.  At first we were a little apprehensive about riding in ours because we didn’t think that the little man would be able to pull the two of us, but he did, thank goodness!  The pedicab driver drove us to someone’s home to visit and learn about his life in Beijing–this man was one of the wealthy people in that area.  He was honored to have us as guest in his home and he greated us with a hot cup of oolong tea.  That was an awesome experience. 

After a full day of touring, I decided to try to have dinner at the hotel.  After eating dinner (vegetable platter), I immediately had an allergic reaction because my face started itching and burning slightly.  I immediately ran upstairs to the room to get my homeopathic medicine to suppress the reaction.  Needless to say, I wasn’t too adventureous for the rest of the trip.

Leave a Reply

 
