Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Shanghai Sights

Posted by rhondascooking on November 11, 2007

This morning I woke up early and decided to curl my hair.  I headed downstairs for some “me” time.  When I went downstairs I noticed the huge spread of food.  I was drawn to it because it was gorgeous.  I browsed the line to see if I could eat.  I got so excited because they had butter leaf, romaine and green leaf lettuce, as well as olives, capers and olive oil!!  So, I ate a salad and fried rice for breakfast and had Long Jing tea (green tea)!  I was sooooooo excited; this was the first day that I didn’t eat my rice cakes!

After breakfast, we headed out to sightsee.  First we visited the silk factory in Shanghai  and it was amazing.  We learned the process to make silk from the start of the worm to unwinding the silk from the cocoon to make a silk comforter.   After seeing this process, I now know why silk costs so much!  I am now going to use my silk comforter more often,  especially now that I know that it works in the winter season too.  Later we visited the Yu Gardens, the old Quarter and had a Dim Sum lunch.  Because everything had pork, I was unable to partake in the meal.  I have had it before with my buddy, Anthony, in Arizona.  It was very tasty. 

After lunch, we headed to the Shanghai Museum, which was awesome.  Because we were a little off schedule, we were unable to see everything in its entirety.  There were 4 floors of lots of things–furniture from Ming Dynasty, masks, calligraphy, etc.  We headed home to rest a second before our last event of the night.

We ended the evening with an acrobatic show.  It was spectacular!!  It was as good as  or better than Cirque du Soleil. 

Leave a Reply

 
