Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted by rhondascooking on November 22, 2007

I am so thankful that the Lord has allowed me to see one more wonderful year.  Though many times we often complain and take our beautiful and wonderful country for granted, I must say that I am proud to live in the United States of America!  After traveling to China, I realize that there is no other place that I would rather live. 

Since I have stopped eating poultry, this was my first Thanksgiving dinner without turkey or hen!  Though I didn’t miss eating the turkey I did miss the experience of cooking the whole meal.  Since I am still tramatized from all of the cooking for my cookbook, I didn’t cook much.  Even though I didn’t experience the traditional thanksgiving dinner–dressing, turkey, greens, green beans, pecan pie and pound cake–I had an awesome dinner.  I had pan-fried blackened halibut topped with grilled onions, black-eyed peas & rice, and cinnamon spiced butternut squash.  It was very good.  I took a picture of it, but because I am not a photographer, the picture didn’t come out right, so you will have to just imagine the taste. 🙂  

Now, I can’t wait til Christmas so I can cook my gluten-free dressing, mustard greens, and candid butternut squash (all recipes will be in the cookbook of course)! 

Leave a Reply

 
