Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Help…I Have a Craving for Something Sweet!

Posted by rhondascooking on July 12, 2008

I don’t know about you, but I have huge sweet tooth!  As a matter of fact, when I first found out that I was allergic to cane sugar and yeast and intolerant to eggs and dairy, I said to myself, “How am I going to bake my cakes and pies?!”  I was devastated with a capital D!  So, instead of being angry, I decided to figure out what foods could I eat that would not only be good to eat, but also healthy.  

 

So what can you do if you are feeling like you need something sweet?  Of course the best thing to do is eat fruit especially those that are season—these are in its peak and are very sweet.  (To find out what’s in season this month, please check out my article on Summer Foods.) 

 

Here are a few foods (there are more) that you can eat to satisfy your sweet tooth cravings without putting on all the weight!  Please note that you should only select one of these listed items and eat once per day (in the quantity that’s listed)! 

 

Food Quantity
Whole Fruit  1 or 2
Fruit Smoothies 8 – 10 oz
Fruit Sorbet 1/4cup (1scoop)
Non-dairy ice cream (Rice Dreams, Soy Dreams, etc) 1/4 cup (1 scoop)
Non-dairy ice cream bars (Rice Dreams, Soy Dreams, etc.) 1 bar
Bora Bora bars 1 bar
Cliff Bars 1 bar
Lara Bars 1 bar
Granola (Bare Naked, Feed, etc.) 1/4 cup  
Enjoy Life Cookies 2 cookies
Newman’s Own cookies 2 cookies
Pamela’s Product (cookies) 2 cookies
Country Choice (cookies) 2 cookies
Rhonda’s Mini Muffins 3 muffins
Rhonda’s almond butter cookies 2 cookies
Rhonda’s Granola 1/4 cup

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
