Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

The Gadget of the Week: Joyce Chen Bamboo Steamer

Posted by rhondascooking on July 12, 2008

This week’s gadget a classic cookware in Asian cultures—the bamboo steamer.

 

What’s so special about this bamboo steamer?  Well, for starters, this hand-made Chinese design dual steamer traps steam and has a high bottom which keeps vegetables from sitting in water. I love it also because it also holds a lot of food and cooks in less time than the traditional metal pots.   

 

Bamboo steamers absorb moisture, prevent condensation and retain heat after cooking. There are several different sizes of bamboo steamers and they can be purchased at any Asian grocery store, online, or kitchen/department stores.  Currently, Amazon.com has the Joyce Chen Bamboo Steamer available for just $9.95!  

2 Responses to “The Gadget of the Week: Joyce Chen Bamboo Steamer”

  1. Darlene Boyd said

    Hi Ronda, I am so glad you are offering the bamboo steamer this week ,I have been looking for one, with out no avail. I have stared a new program that suggest I use a bamboo steamer and cutting board often, I like the board you chose on your site last month. This program not only have me eating correctly, it will also greatly improve my health. I was scheduled to have an operation last month, but I op to choose God’s way of healing, by eating healing foods and exercising more. I am sooooo glad I did. My health is improving, my enegry is up, and I am loosing the weight.

    Dod Bless

  2. Awesome! I am so glad to know that you have been healed and have started your journey to staying healthy by changing the way you eat and exercising more. This is fantastic! I am so glad that my information has helped you. Sometimes I wonder if people are reading about my favorite gadgets. Thanks for sharing! Here’s the link to the bamboo steamer on Amazon.com just in case you didn’t see it. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw/105-0163219-3830814?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=joyce+chen+bamboo+steamer

    Also, don’t forget to check the Asian grocery stores; it may be a little cheaper.

Leave a Reply

 
