Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Part 1. Water: Are You Drinking Enough?

Posted by rhondascooking on September 20, 2008

Water is one of the most essential nutrients for the body.  As a matter of fact, we can’t live without!  Even though we may live a month without food, we cannot live more than 5 days without water1—now don’t you think that this makes water important?! Water transports nutrients and oxygen to the body, eliminates waste, moistens body tissues (such as those in the mouth, eyes, and nose), lubricates joints, and cushions organs and tissues.2  So, if water plays such an important role in our lives, then how much are you drinking?  Do you even know how much water your body requires?

 

According to the Institute of Medicine, the daily adequate intake of water should be 3.7 liters (125 ounces) for men and 2.7 liters (91 ounces) for women.  That’s about 8-(16 ounce) bottles of water for men and 5 ½- bottles for women per day!  I know what you’re thinking, “That’s a lot!” Some of you may be even thinking, “I don’t like water that much!”  Here are a few tips that I think will help you meet this quota–#1 and #2 are my favorites:

 

1.    Start your day (when you wake up) with one 16-ounce glass of water.  Repeat every 4 hours until you reach the goal.

2.    Use an interesting glass or bottle for your water. Believe it or not, you eat and drink with your eyes first then the mouth second.  

3.    Add a couple of lemon wedges lemon juice or 1 fresh mint leaf to the water to add a little flavor and garnish; this is good for those of you who don’t like the natural water taste.

 

 


1Drinking Water.”  Ewg.org. 29 Aug. 2008. 19 Sept. 2008 http://www.epa.gov/region7/kids/drnk_b.htm
2“Find your water supply.”  Ewg.org. 2008. 19 Sept. 2008
http://www.ewg.org/tapwater/yourwater/index.php>

7 Responses to “Part 1. Water: Are You Drinking Enough?”

  1. Karen M. said

    Great article. Until recently, I had been sticking to the old 8 glasses ( 8oz) a day. Moving to a much higher altitude than Phoenix was a shock for my body because the air up here is so dry! To feel healthy, I need to drink no less than 3.5 liters a day. And believe me, this can be quite a chore.

  2. Hi, Karen. Dito on 3.5L/per day! I just started drinking this same amount last week. In the past my quota was the 2.7L. Yes, it is indeed a chore for me too. I start first thing in the morning drinking my 1st liter and then drink the 2nd liter around noon. The 3rd liter is around 6pm then the 1/2 liter occurs somewhere after that.

    The best thing about drinking 3.5L is that it helps me to stay full which is good for the waist line! LOL!

  3. Carrie said

    Rhonda,
    This topic is so important and we all neglect our bodies from the most important thing we call “water”. I don’t know why it’s so hard to just drink it if it is so good for our body. I am truly going to work on getting my intake and your tips are very helpful and seem to be easy enough. I will be forwarding this newsletter to friends that I know also have challenges in this area. Keep up the awesome work. I appreciate you and the time you take to send this information out for us.

  4. Paula said

    Okay Rhonda, I hear you about the water. I had been doing great with my intake however, I have fallen miserably off (and my waistline will prove it:)). The BIG problem I have is whenever I drink alot of water I have to use the restroom every five minutes(almost literally). In my profession it is not feasible to run back and forth to the restroom. I even tried drinking after work which kept me running back and forth all night, causing sleep problems. Will my body ever adjust to the intake?

  5. pinkrose25 said

    This information is really wonderful..:)
    Thanks Rhondascooking..:)

  6. Hey, thanks for the comments! I am so glad that you enjoyed the infor and are going to start drinking more water. Great job!

  7. Paula, I understand about your profession and not being able to leave and take a restroom break. Yes, I do feel ya on the “every five minutes” comments! DITO! Now, even though you may not be able to get in all of the requirements, this is what I recommend in order for you to reach the minimum quota.

    1. As soon as you wake up, instead of drinking coffee/tea or juice, immediately start drinking water. Have a glass (16oz) waiting on you either on your nightstand or in the kitchen. Drink it first before you start anything. Then drink a second one during the drive into work.
    2. Drink 1 or 2 (16 ounce) glasses when you get off work (around 3pm’ish)
    3. Drink 1 or 2 (16 ounces) glasses around 5:30pm

    Stop dirnking liquids after 6pm if you have problems with getting up during the night to use the restroom.

Leave a Reply

 
