Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Gadget of the Week: Mr. Coffee Electric Coffee Grinder

Posted by rhondascooking on March 13, 2009

The Mr. Coffee Electric Coffee Grinder is another one of my favorite kitchen gadgets that I use everyday!   This grinder is not just for grinding coffee beans, but I use this grinder for grinding flaxseeds.  I know that you may be thinking that a grinder is a grinder, what’s the big deal?  Well, I have tried mrcoffee-grinder2several grinders, that range in prices, and the Mr. Coffee grinder was the best by far due to its quality grind and low price.  For about $19 – $24, this grinder has 3 different types of grinds for a variety of sizes.  Moreover, this grinder has an automatic timer that stops once the grind has completed for a specific size.  Electric grinders can also be used to make puree’s or sauces; I once made pesto in my grinder and was thoroughly pleased! 

If you are considering to add more Omega-3’s to your daily diet through adding flaxseeds, then you should definitely consider getting this grinder.  Sometimes this grinder may be a little difficult to find , but check Walmart, Target or some grocery stores.  The Mr. Coffee grinder can also be purchased online through Amazon.com. 

Click here to learn more about  the Mr. Coffee Electric Coffee Grinder with Chamber Maid Cleaning System

12 Responses to “Gadget of the Week: Mr. Coffee Electric Coffee Grinder”

  1. Mr. Sidney Jones, Jr. said

    I have this one! I have been using it for coffee, but it’s good to know that I get mulit-use out it. What’s truly cool is that it’s easy to clean, so I definitely agree– this is great product.

    • That’s great, Sidney! I burned out my first one; I had water next to it and it shorted out the electronics. So, I searched high and low and found another one cause none others could compare. Don’t forget to clean the coffee before grinding flaxseeds. I’m sure you know already. 🙂

  2. Shreya said

    I just bought this coffee grinder not to grind coffee beans, but to grind spices and also some wet stuff like onions, tomatoes etc in smaller quantities which I cannot do with regular blenders.
    You said you tried it to make puree, does it work properly? and is it okay to use it for such purposes?
    Your feedback is appreciated.

    Shreya

    • Hi! Congratulations on your purchase; you will have lots of fun with both grinding spices and small batches of purees and wet rubs. Just 2 days ago, I used this blender to make a roasted garlic and rosemary rub and it worked beautifully! Now, the key is that you may have to add oil or water depending on what you are trying to puree/blend. I hope this helps. let me know if you have any other questions.

  3. Shreya said

    Thanks a lot Rhonda, I appreciate your input.

    Shreya

  4. Shreya said

    Hello Rhonda,
    I go the product. Looks appealing, but, I haven’t tried it out yet.
    I will write to you as soon as I experiment.

    Shreya

  5. […] Gadget of the Week: Mr. Coffee Electric Coffee Grinder […]

  6. Shreya said

    Hello Rhonda,
    I used the grinder and it is working good. But it did not work for wet stuff though..

    • Hi, thanks for sharing. What type of “wet stuff” where you trying to process? You can’t use water. Hmmm, it worked well for my pesto and other sauces. When you get a chance, let me know what you did.

  7. Toni said

    I purchased the Vitamixer from Costco… it was more expensive but I can grind almost anything. I make fruit smoothies for the kids… we leave the stems on. 🙂

    I grind chickpeas for hummus, grind most veggies (squash, carrots, and cauliflower are my favorites) up after parboiling to make low fat soups, and I can grind grains.

    I have done so with flax seeds yet… thanks for the suggestion! I like them on yogurt, etc.

Leave a Reply

 
