Rhonda’s Cooking

www.rhondascooking.com

Momma’s Oatmeal Breakfast

Posted by rhondascooking on May 31, 2009

By now, you have heard many stories and have seen many commercials promoting the goodness of eating oatmeal and other whole grains.  You may have seen the heart on the box of your favorite breakfast cereal or oatmeal container indicating that the product is great for the heart, as well as for reducing high cholesterol.  When I told my mom about eating 1 cup of oatmeal every day to help control her blood sugar and reduce her cholesterol, she almost cringed because she absolutely hated oatmeal.  She grew up on eating creamy grits with salt and butter!  So, I knew it would be a challenge.  Even though she knew the value, she still hated it.  So, I told her about different brands of cereals that have oats in them and that sparked an idea, which led her to create a recipe that works for her.  So, if you too are struggling with eating oatmeal, then you may want to give this recipe a try!

Momma’s Oatmeal Breakfast

4 tablespoons rolled “old fashioned” oats

1 cup cornflakes (or any similar whole grain cereal flakes)

1 cup non-dairy milk (soy, rice, almond, etc.)

Pinch organic raw Turbinado sugar (optional)

Grind oats using a clean electric coffee grinder until oats have become smaller pieces.  Add ground oats, cornflakes, and milk to a small bowl and serve immediately.  Typically the non-dairy milks are slightly sweet, so adding any sweeteners are optional.

5 Responses to “Momma’s Oatmeal Breakfast”

  1. gemini1322 said

    Interesting. Any ideas where I can get “old fashioned” oats? All I see are the instants!

    • Hi, thanks for reading! Quaker Oats makes the “old fashioned” oats and they are packaged in an 18oz cardboard container. You can find them right next to the grits in most grocery stores. The original name for old fashioned oats are “Rolled Oats”. So if you see either one of these names on the package, you are good to go! Let me know if you have any other problems with finding the oats.

  2. Toni said

    I’ve been eating Steel Cut Oatmeal… the best I can tell is it’s the heads of grains that are not flattened out. Anyway should lower my cholesterol… not for the faint of heart… very grainy and chewy but I like them.

    You can get at most stores now days… I follow directions on the box… you can let sit in the water overnight which cuts down the cooking time… I add some sliced almonds, organic honey, cinnamon, and a bit of whatever fruit on have on hand. It’s really filling… like all high fiber content… make sure to drink a lot of liquid and expect a potty break in a few hours… 🙂

  3. Ebony said

    Hey, roomie. I’m with mom on the oatmeal. . .HATED IT!! I SERVE it to the kids so I’ve been trying to choke a spoonful down occassionally, but just don’t like it. I’ll try this since I know moms can cook!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
